After clearing the initial debris and smaller branches, Public Works left the remaining bulk of this 100+ year old tree with its exposed enormous root base from November 2013 until April 29-30, 2014 when it was cut up in pieces and carted away. For those five months the remaining bulk of the giant tree was awe-inspiring, thought-provoking and a popular, unique asset to the natural wonder of the Lake Merritt area.
Photos on right offer a brief historical perspective of the tree. The Oakland Public Library History Room had in its photo collection a few undated pictures of the area with the lakeside tree ever dominate more than a century ago. Clues to the photo dates are given by the buildings closest to the tree: Lake Merritt Boathouse, the single roofed core building constructed as a pumping station for the Oakland Fire Department in 1909, with two wings added to make the Boathouse in 1913; Oakland City Hall built between 1910 and 1914; and the Scottish Rite Temple, built in 1927. Captions will explain the dating. The tree had been a prominent part of the lakeside landscape for more than a century.
Honoring a Pillar:
Majestic Eucalyptus knocked down in November 2013 wind storm